Manchester City Greatest Midfielders of All Time

By Guest writer, Mon 09 November 2020 09:34

Manchester City Greatest Midfielders of All Time 

The midfield position is very crucial in the game of football. That is the position where the game can be won or lost. Therefore, most football clubs have been investing heavily on that position. The same can be said for a club like Manchester City.

According to a sports article by, Manchester City has attracted a good number of players on every position in their squad. But since the midfield area is very crucial, they have secured the services of some top-notch players. These include;

Colin Bell

Bell joined Manchester City in 1966. He spent thirteen beautiful years at the club. Bell was dubbed “The King” worthy of having a stand at the Etihad stadium named after him. Colin Bell is still remembered as one of the best City player who have put on the sky blue shirt. He won the FA Cup in 1969 and the following year in 1970, he lifted the League Cup and the European Cup Winners’ Cup.

David Silva

Talk of a modern midfield player in the game of football, surely David Silva will always be one of the best midfield players of all time. Not only for Manchester City but also for the game as a whole. He was the most consistent player in the Manchester City squad since he joined in 2010.

He has a unique style of play, his passing, ball control, dribbling and the vision to pick a pass was astonishing. Silva was named the City’s Player of the Year last year and he solely deserve it.

Yaya Toure

When Manchester City bought Yaya Toure from Barcelona for £24 million which is more than what some new casinos offer for jackpots, the world was amazed. That price tag was actually a bargain for a player of that calibre.  In his first season at City, Yaya helped City to lift the FA Cup. He scored the only goal against rival Manchester United in the semi-final, and also netted the winner against Stoke in the final.

The following season, he was vital in helping City lift the Premier League title and again in 2014, bagging 20 goals to his name. In addition, he was included in the PFA Premier League Team of the Year.