Most Qualified Soccer Teams for 2020 Olympics

By Guest writer, Wed 04 March 2020 12:50

Most Qualified Soccer Teams for 2020 Olympics 

The 2020 Summer Olympics will take place in Tokyo, Japan from July 24 to August 9, 2020. The association football competition in the Olympics will run from July 22 to August 8, 2020. Under-23 men's teams will play in different Japanese cities including Yokohama, Kashima, Sendai, Sapporo, Tokyo, and Saitama. Betway88 will cover each game. Listed below are the six most qualified football teams for the Tokyo 2020 Olympics.

  1. Argentina

Argentina won silver in the 1928 and 1996 Olympics and gold in the 2004 and 2008 tournaments. Talented footballers like Lionel Messi, Javier Mascherano, Sergio Aguero, Carlos Tevez, Juan Roman Riquelme, and Roberto Ayala were part of the Argentine squads that won gold medals. Yet, Argentina was eliminated in the group stage in the 2016 Rio de Janeiro Olympics.

The South American nation won the CONMEBOL qualifiers. It didn't lose any game in the group phase. Alexis McAllister scored four goals in the qualifiers. Argentina often uses the 4-2-3-1- formation.

  1. Spain

Spain won the 1992 Men's Olympics association football competition. But, it missed the 2016 Olympics. The European country has taken part in ten Olympic football tournaments. It won silver in the 2000 Summer Olympics. Spain won the UEFA Under-21 tournament last year in Italy. It won its fifth continental title after it beat Germany 2-1.

Fabian Ruiz made three assists for Spain in the qualification competition. Besides, he scored twice in the Under-21 Championship final against Germany and received the UEFA Under-21 Championship Player of the Tournament award. Pundits who place Betway88 football bets can wager on Fabian as an anytime goalscorer for Spain.

  1. Korea Republic

The Korea Republic won bronze in the 2012 London Olympics. This year, it will compete in its 11th Olympic football competition. The Asian country reached the quarterfinals in the 2016 Rio Olympics and lost 1-0 to Honduras. Korea won the AFC Under-23 Championship in Thailand. Kim Hakbum will lead the Taegeuk Warriors to the Tokyo Olympics. His team scored 10 goals in the qualifiers.

  1. Japan

Japan will take part in its 11th men's Olympic football tournament this year. But, it has only passed the group phase five times. Japan won bronze in the 1968 Mexico City Olympics. It got an automatic qualification into this year's tournaments since it is the host. The Samurai Blue scored 21 goals in the 2020 AFC Under-23 tournament. 

  1. Germany

Germany won silver in the 2016 Brazil Olympics after Brazil beat it in penalties. It has never won any men's Olympic football championship despite taking part in nine editions. Spain beat Germany 2-1 in the UEFA Under-21 tournament final. It led its group in the qualifiers after scoring 15 goals. Luca Waldschmidt was the top goals scorer in the Under-21 Championship.

  1. Brazil

Brazil has participated in 14 men's football Olympic tournaments. It won bronze in 1996 and 2008 and silver in the 1984, 1988 and 2012 Olympics. The South American team won gold in the Rio de Janeiro 2-16 Olympics. It was led by Gabriel Barbosa, Gabriel Jesus, Neymar, and Marquinhos. Brazil was the runners up in the CONMEBOL tournament. It was unbeaten in all games. Pepe, Paulinho, and Matheus Cunha scored 11 goals for Brazil in the qualifiers.

Association football tournaments in the Olympics is an old tradition. The 2020 association football will be the 27th edition of the Under-23 tournament. The International Olympic Committee (IOC) allows each team to add three over-age players. The teams will compete in seven Japanese cities. Also, soccer fans can wager on any team at Betway88.